The Drood Report

Nick Fry is a jerk.

Mosley Resignation Watch: Day Four

Not much new today. The News of the World ran an interview with one of the prostitutes and everything completely refutes Max’s claim there was no Nazi stuff. In fact they go out of their way to point out he requested it.

Also Niki Lauda has added his voice to those saying “Begone foul stain!” Only he said it with an Austrian accent. And probably didn’t actually say “Begone foul stain!”

So the score is 13 – 0 currently.

Will endeavour to post a race review in the next day or two. Been feeling under the weather, and have other writing commitments as well. I’m a busy little beaver. Now if only I got paid…

April 8, 2008 - Posted by | f1

2 Comments »

  1. Do you know, I was only thinking that myself the other day – wouldn’t it be nice to be paid for all the hours we put into researching and writing the kind of things we do?

    Comment by fifthdecade | April 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yes, it would be nice. Over the years I’ve been paid to write about computers, review video games etc… I’ve written for a couple of notable publications. I used to write for a fairly popular gaming website. (Who I will not name as they really don’t deserve the traffic.)

    Despite covering F1 for eight of the last eleven years, it’s been entirely unpaid. Disappointing really. But then I learned in my professional writing that being paid means you’re in somebodies pocket. My last writing job, about video games, I was hired when the site was in it’s infancy and my attitude, which is basically that I don’t care who I anger and will say what I want, was why they hired me. Sadly when the site got bigger and wanted to start attracting advertisers etc… The very attitude that got me hired meant I had to be fired because obviously, especially in the video game industry, if you don’t suck up, you don’t get the dollars from the game companies.

    That’s happened to me twice actually now. One company, when I gave a mildly negative review, not even that critical, they removed me from the press release mailing list, removed me from their beta testing group, removed my NAME from the manual of the game I was beta testing at the time, would no longer send me review titles, and wrote and complained to my editor. He’d said my review was fine. 48 hours later once he got the complaint he turned around and said it was a terrible review, and spent the next week nailing me to a tree, and spent the rest of my time there treating me like crap.

    In short, it’s an ugly business. Not getting paid has it’s advantages as we’re beholden to no-one and can say what we like.

    Comment by Steve | April 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

